Adventures in CSS

So I went to update the site the other day and Neocities threw a “file name too long” error on one of the CSS files generated by my Hugo theme. Had something to do with the CSS being digitally signed. I was annoyed, because I really didn’t think it seemed necessary, but Justin reminded me it was probably to prevent cross-site CSS injection attacks, so fair game.

Anyway, after fumbling around inside the theme directory for an hour and a half trying to figure out how to influence that output in any way, I gave up and posted an issue on the theme’s Github page. I didn’t have high hopes, but I’ll be damned the author was both really nice and patched the problem out within twelve hours.

So thanks to Léo, AKA Ideso for the theme and the real quick fix! And to make thing even better, I started to actually learn a little CSS while trying to put a bandaid on the problem the other day, and this morning I figured out how to add my own CSS on top of the theme’s! And right before posting this, I figured out how the new post archetype works, and now I don’t have to go hunting for the right way to add tags to posts every time I make a new one.

A much needed good day for the website project.

I think the RSS might still be broken, but that might be a Neocities problem? I don’t know.